Celebrity

sp_a0347.jpg
sp_a0355.jpglatham-godisgreat.jpg
My conceptual art work is going a bit better than the protection work, I thought it would have been the other way around but anyway… I’ve been focusing on how a celebrity wants the fame and fortune as well as their privacy but can’t really have both. They’re constantly in the spotlight and in newspapers/magazines for everyday things. So I’ve decided to have burnt newspaper images and text stuck on to or between sheets of glass. I decided to burn the newspaper kind of with the idea of being so famous, even after death they will be remembered. My maquettes are above, I quite like the bottom left, I think it would be successful with a spotlight on it creating a shadow, possibly hanging up but I’m not sure how easy that will be!
John Latham’s shattered glass is aesthetically relevant but not the concept, I think it looks really good and I was going to try smashing a mirror before I saw this. If I could set the shatttered pieces is resin or glue it would be quite cool.
Leave a Reply

